Read our blog for traveller accounts.


The Golden Chariot is a luxury tourist train that connects the important tourist spots in the Indian states of Karnataka, Goa, Kerala & Tamil Nadu as well as Pondicherry, depending on the selected itinerary. It is named after the Stone Chariot in the Vitthala Temple at Hampi. The 19 coaches on the train are coloured purple and gold, and sport the logo of a mythological animal with the head of an elephant and a body of a lion. The train, along with the Deccan Odyssey, is designed on the lines of the more popular Palace on Wheels with accommodations, spa treatments and dining.

The Golden Chariot offers accommodation in 44 cabins in 11 coaches that are named after dynasties that ruled the region: Kadamba, Hoysala, Rashtrakuta, Ganga, Chalukya, Bahamani, Adil Shahi, Sangama, Satavahana, Yadukula and Vijayanagar. It also has two restaurants, a lounge bar, and conference, gym and spa facilities. It has onboard internet connectivity and satellite antennae providing live television service in the cabins.

The Golden Chariot offers 3 itineraries: Jewels of South, and Pride of Karnataka, each lasting 6 nights & 7 days, and Glimpses of Karnataka, lasting 3 nights & 4 days.

Jewels of South
Jewels of South departs Bengaluru and visits Mysuru, Hampi, Kabini River, Hassan, Badami, and Goa, returning to Bengaluru.

Pride of Karnataka
Pride of Karnataka departs Bengaluru and visits Bandipur, Mysore, Halebidu, Chikamgaluru, Hampi, Pattadakal & Aihole, and Goa, returning to Bengaluru.

Glimpses of Karnataka
Glimpses of Karnataka departs Bengaluru and visits Bandipur, Mysore, and Hampi, returning to Bengaluru.

Recent Post

December, 26
October, 27

Other Blogs